High End Foundations, Worth the Hype?

If you know me you’ll know that I more often that not, reach for drugstore makeup over higher end products but recently I have definitely been discovering my love for some of the beautiful high end products that are available at the moment.

I feel like I need to start with Too-Faced, this brand, along with Benefit is quickly becoming my favourite. I can see why people spend more money on getting something higher end because you really do get what you pay for. I have been head over heels in love with the chocolate bar palettes, the sweet peach collection, better than sex mascara and now I have the gorgeous addition of the Born This Way foundation, which has changed the game for me completely. Hands down the best foundation I’ve ever used. A little goes a long way but if you build it up the coverage is incredible and the colour is such a perfect match. It’s a great base for adding concealer to brighten without looking cakey and the packaging is perfect. I really think this foundation is worth investing in if you’re looking for a really lovely high end product but aren’t sure where to spend your money – I highly recommend. (£26)

Secondly is a brand that is fairly new to me. Iconic London. I have the gorgeous Pigment Foundation Stick It’s the first stick foundation product I’ve tried and I am loving it! It’s so easy to use, it’s compact and the packaging is very stylish. It’s so easy to blend in and the coverage is amazing, I prefer to blend this in using a brush rather than a sponge, as because it’s a stick the consistency is thicker so I don’t find that a beauty blender works quite as well but don’t let that put you off because if you blend it using a buffing brush it is perfect. (£25)

Next is the gorgeous Nebulae Foundation from Glo and Ray. I have mine in the lightest shade N00 and it’s a perfect match for my pale skin. I love this foundation, not only does it blend really well but I find it sits really nicely on the skin all day and doesn’t do that whole ‘settling round your nose’ that some foundations do! I highly recommend this, and all other Glo and Ray products, finding this brand is such a hidden gem, every product I’ve had has been incredible. (£23)

Next is a brand I have recently been loving, I’ve loved having such beautiful quality make-up and there is nothing short of classy from Clarins. I’ve found my love for their Double Serum, their Graphik Ink Eyeliner which I use every single day, and now I have found my love for their gorgeous foundations. I have their Everlasting Compact Foundation and the Everlasting Cushion Foundation. I’ve not used them more than a couple of times each yet but I can already tell that they are going to become firm favourites as they feel so luxurious and long lasting. The packaging itself is utterly beautiful, the quality is incredible and the products themselves are so sophisticated and lovely. (£31)

Lastly I have the NARS sheer glow foundation, don’t get me wrong, I like this foundation. It blends easily, the colour matches are generally quite good but I feel as though I have better foundations from the drug store, for example the Maybelline Superstay 24hr. I don’t feel that the coverage and the quality matches up to the price tag, maybe I haven’t given it enough of a chance but I can’t say I’m in love with this one and would definitely say  you can pick up better foundations from superdrug or boots for a fraction of the price. (£32)

I hope you found this helpful if you’re looking for a high end foundation and want to know what I’ve thought of some of the ones I’ve tried. Let me know if you have any you recommend! I’d love to hear your thoughts!

All my love

Evie x

One thought on “High End Foundations, Worth the Hype?

  1. I really want to try the foundation from Too Faced… I love their mascara! You’ve probably heard it a million times but I live for Estée Lauder Double Wear foundation but it obviously depends on what coverage you like as I’m a total coverage kinda gal! I absolutely despise the NARS Sheer Glow foundation.. it was so patchy after I applied it.. probably one of the worst I’ve tried on my skin – totally agree with you… there are MUCH better drugstore foundations out there!

    Katie | http://aesthetix-katie.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

