The Carnival 

On the 15th of July, I was involved in my local town carnival with my work. The carnival is something I’ve regularly been involved in since I was little and can be a lot of fun!

This year the theme was Myths and Legends and as a store we dressed as pirates! At first I thought, stripey top, ripped trousers and a drawn on beard but I decided it might be nicer to make more of an effort and be a bit more of a ‘glam’ pirate, incorporating some sassy AF make-up and a costume that made me feel much more girly and glamorous! And with the help of Smiffys, I did just that!

img_8090

MAKEUP:

img_7672

For my eyes I used my trusty old Morphe 35o palette, taking the orange-y shades in the crease, deepening it with the  and my foil eyes 28 palette from BH cosmetics, which is incredible! I used the golden shades and sprayed a flat brush with fixing spray before applying. Then adding a little bit of highlight in the corner.

Using my Glo&Ray Longwear Precision eyeliner to do my wing, as its my current go-to and my gosh black chunky liner to line my waterline. I also used my Too Faced better than sex mascara which is a new one I’ve been trying and I have been LOVING.

For foundation I also used my Glo&Ray Nebulae Foundation which is an absolute dream, and smells incredible! I paired this with their Lumincent Pressed Powder which has definiately been my go-to at the moment even over my MAC powders!

For highlight I also used a BH cosmetics product; the Backlight 6 Color Highlight Palette.  I honestly cannot get enough of this brand, every single product I’ve used has completely outdone my expectations, I rarely use any other highlight because this palette is so gorgeous. The colours are amazing, and the pigmentation is insane, It lasts all day and night and the shades in this palette are to die for!

For Brows I of course used my trusty Benefit Ka-BROW I honestly don’t know what I did before this product, I would never use anything else now it is my absolute FAVOURITE.

 

OUTFIT:

img_8089.jpg

img_8088

Smiffys have so many gorgeous fancy dress items on their website, ranging from children to adults, and from fun to a lot more sophisticated. As I said, I originally was aiming for a fun look but decided to pair it with some more glam makeup and make my self in to a much more sophisticated pirate!

I went for the Fever Swash Buckler Costume, and I love it! It’s so glam and lovely, I felt so girly in it and its nice and light weight meaning I wasn’t at all too hot, it’s all in one as opposed to a dress and a coat making it very easy to wear and I loved it. Obviously for a family carnival I just paired it with some tights and chunky boots but for a night out this would look sassy AF with no tights and heels!

 

 

No pirate is complete without a parrot or loot bag so I also picked this cute fella, and he sat very happily on my shoulder all evening, alongside the Coin bag which doubled up as a very useful phone holder!

img_8084img_8091

As you probably know, my hair is currently blonde but naturally it’s a gingery brown and for this I really fancied trying out a different hair colour so I also picked this gorgeous brown pirate wig, and I love it! It’s such good quality, If it weren’t for the pirate bandana attached then I’d be wearing it more often haha. – Having said that if you’re looking for a wig definitely check out their collection of normal wigs as they look incredible!

 

 


img_8083

img_8095

Make sure you check out Smiffys if you’re looking for a costume and accessories for any event! There is such a huge range of products to choose from for all kinds of events and the quality of the products is gorgeous. Let me know what you think – I know this is a bit different to my usual blog posts but I wanted to share with you some more of my life stuff outside my normal make up and shopping blog posts!

 

All my love,

Evie x

Leave a Reply

