Spring Make-Up Essentials

As we’re transitioning from the colder weather into Spring/Summer it’s about time we updated our makeup collection and very reluctantly put away the dark berry shades.

I decided I would share with you my Spring time essentials;

Fragrance

17904176_436563430014227_8102274096987830203_n17884127_436563470014223_6414906073060756316_n

You can’t go into Spring without smelling fresh and floral and lovely, my absolute favourite fragrance at the moment is the YSL Black Opium – Floral Shock Perfume – I cannot explain how utterly beautiful this perfume is- no it’s not cheap but with UNIdays you do get 10% off on Fragrance Direct, and it is so so worth it. Perfume is something I rarely splash out on but I need to start investing in some higher end ones as there is something really lovely about having a luxury perfume.

Another fragrance, utterly perfect for Spring/Summer is the Marc Jacobs Daisy Dream Kiss I don’t think it would matter what this smelt like because the bottle is just far too gorgeous for words- but luckily it smells just as good as it looks. If you were to sum up Spring in a scent it would be this; it’s floral and delicate and slightly fruity and it stays on all day.  Both are such delicate scents perfect for as we move into the warmer weather, and having such luxurious perfume is a perfect way to treat yourself for the new season.

Makeup

17523630_436563583347545_2481979345442439287_n17796308_436563503347553_5760996184746568514_n17951880_436563386680898_7544661319893449170_n

To me Spring signifies the beginning of the sun shining, the cold weather lifting and the warmth coming through, so when I think of spring make-up I think of golden, glowy, neutral shades with a real emphasis on the glow!

After trying out the NARS Sheer Glow Foundation I can see why everyone raves about NARS; the formula is gorgeous- it’s so creamy and blends so well with either a sponge or a brush. What I love about this for Spring is that it’s easily buildable, so whilst the coverage is amazing even if you only put a little bit on you can build it up for a fuller coverage and it doesn’t feel cakey on your skin – I find with NARS, that it feels high quality, you can so easily tell a high-end product from a drugstore product and whilst there are some brilliant dupes out at the moment you definitely do get what you pay for and I highly recommend having at least one high end foundation in your collection.

MAC Pressed Powder is an absolute staple for Spring- you don’t want to be too oily and shiny especially as it gets warmer and the MAC powder is utterly perfect for keeping your make-up in place all day. I like to apply this with my Real Techniques Powder Brush as its so soft and amazing quality- Real Techniques will always be a staple brand for brushes. I have been an avid ‘stay matte’ powder fan for so long I thought it was time to update my collection with something a little more mature and the MAC pressed powder definitely is.

17884134_436563363347567_6938496289918193699_n

After Powedering I like to move onto contour- I tend to reach for a bronzer over a specific contour product as I feel the bronze-ness gives you a healthier glow and because I have a very pale complexion I feel the warmer tones of a bronzer work best and give me the lift I need. The NARS Bronzing Powder is my absolute go to for this now, not only is the matte packaging so incredibly beautiful and classy, the product itself feels so high quality and luxurious. I often struggle with getting a bronzer/contour that doesn’t settle on my face in funny patches but this sits beautifully and is so easy to build up depending on how warm and glowy you want to look.

17759892_436563326680904_687459449834713203_n

I like to pair this with the MAC Mineralize Blush in ‘love thing‘ Usually, I’m not really a blush person, I find because I’m so pale that any pink or red tones on my skin make me look like I’ve just done a hardcore workout as opposed to a full face of make up but I think I have just found my new holy grail product. The Blush has a beautiful golden brown undertone so it isn’t too pink and it doesn’t make me look hot and flustered, it adds to the glow of the bronzer without making me look pink but gives me some colour to my cheeks. The formula is also beautiful; you only need a slight dusting on your brush and the colour pay off is amazing.

17903354_436563526680884_3702447097804406572_n

I am utterly in love with the NARS Illuminator  in Super Orgasm- I  am a highlight girl through and through, I love a good glow! And this is no exception – the colour is just divine and the golden flecks give you that utterly gorgeous bronze goddess glow that I adore in the warmer weather. The cream formula make it so easy to apply and because it’s such good quality a little goes a long way. The pink/goldness in this product compliments the MAC blush and NARS bronzer so well and they add to the golden glow that I was going for.

17952463_436563446680892_7544995412570131534_n

The last product but by no means least, I feel ties this look together; I have never tried the MAC frost lipsticks so I thought I’d branch out and give it a go as it fitted my golden glow theme! – I can say it definitely did not disappoint. Much like the blush and bronzer situation I don’t suit a bright red or pink lip- I tend to stick to the brown/taupe/nudes so when I saw this I knew I had to try it! The MAC frost Lipstick in ‘0’ is exactly what I was looking for, as you all know the formula of MAC lipsticks is gorgeously creamy, easy to apply and incredibly long lasting but this colour is perfect and compliments the other products beautifully. It’s a browny nude shade with the gold glow running through it which is what made me fall in love & it really ties this look together.

What I really love about these make-up products is that you can build them up as little or as much as you want, if you only want a subtle glow on your face with a light coverage on your skin then you can just use a little of the foundation and ‘glow up’ with the golden tones in the bronzer and highlight, if you want to go more full coverage then you can achieve that by building up the foundation and combining the other products for that extra glow. Paired with a neural eye either in golden brown tones or nudes these are my absolute go-to’s for Spring and I’m so excited to share with you what I have been loving.

STUDENTS, make sure you are signed up with UNIDAYS, its a free service (unlike the NUS card system, in which you sign up online and download the app on your phone, you can either then show respective stores your ID profile on your phone or if you’re shopping online you simply use the relevant code when you checkout- it’s a very easy app to use and gets you some really great savings – for fragrance direct it gets you 10% discount, and they already offer some incredible prices so it just makes it even better!

 

All my love,

Evie x

 

*DISCLAIMER* I was very kindly sent these products by the lovely PR team at Fragrance Direct; however this post is not sponsored, and all the opinions of the products are my own

 

 

9 thoughts on “Spring Make-Up Essentials

Leave a Reply

