Homemade ‘Nakd Bars’

Nakd bars are fast becoming an absolute favourite healthy treat of mine, and recently especially the nakd nibbles, but they’re a little more on the pricey side to be buying them all the time, so I decided to make my own!

A don’t really have a recipe a such, I sort of just winged it! But I’ve come up with three flavours so far that have worked well and I thought id share them with you.

You will need:

  • Dry pitted dates
  • Raisins
  • Flavour of choice
  • Coconut
  • Cocoa powder
  • (cashew nuts if you want them)
  • A food processor or blender

Almond

The bakewell tart flavoured bar is my absolute favourite so I knew I had to try and recreate this! I used ten dry pitted dates, a small handful of raisins (roughly 20g) and half a teaspoon of almond essence. I blended it all up in the food processor- pulsing it gradually works best, then when it’s all mixed it will naturally form into clumps in the bowl. I’ve been rolling mine into little balls rather than bars as I think they’re nicer to put on top of smoothies or mix in with a bowl of fruit but of course you can make bars too! Then just place them in the fridge in a air tight container and once they’re cool they’re harder and chewy and loveeeely.

Chocolate Orange:

Same process, ten dates, handful of raisins, then add either some grated orange rind or 1/3 teaspoon orange essence (I had some in the baking cupboard & was lacking in physical oranges so I used that) and a teaspoon of cocoa powder. Blend it all up and repeat the rolling into balls- to fridge malarkey.

Coconut

Same thing again, but dates, raisins, teaspoon of cocoa and a couple of teaspoons of coconut (I literally just grab a handful of roughly how much I want!) blend it all up, then roll the balls up and roll them in some desiccated coconut before placing them in the fridge- they are yummmmy!

 

Enjoy! Tag me in photos of you making them – I’d love to see them!

Instagram: @whateviedid

14192111_328450024158902_8236606581894155015_n

Evie xxx

Leave a Reply

