How to Have The Best Camping Trip

“Here’s to the nights that turned into mornings, with the friends that turned into family”

So recently my mind has been very wander-y. I’ve been thinking about all the places I want to go to and explore and I’m starting to feel very trapped and claustrophobic in a home/uni/work cycle. Then it came to bank holiday weekend, the weekend that so many of my friends and I have been looking forward to for a long time, our annual camping trip, there’s nothing like it; sun, sea, sand, amazing friends and amazing memories and I thought I’d share with you all the things that I think make the best weekend away. Here is my checklist of everything you need for an amazing camping trip away, a list of all the essentials, other than the obvious.

Amazing people, Check!

I have the absolute best friends in the world, I know I’m biased but this group of people are quite frankly my favourite people on this planet. I started working in Morrisons as a part time job three years ago and although the job drives me mad a large percentage of the time I have to say I wouldn’t change it for the world. The amount of people I have met there is quite ridiculous and I don’t know what it is about supermarkets but they are some bloody lovely people. And to get them all together to go camping with is the means for a very lovely weekend!

The Best Campsite Ever, Check!

Now again I am biased but we have found the best campsite in the world. It’s tucked away in Cornwall, it is basically two fields with a toilet/shower block in the middle, if you walk through the two camping fields and down through another field you are on the beach. A beach that you can only access through the campsite. There are caves and rock pools and a giant rock in the middle of the water you can jump off. There is rarely anyone there and it is honestly just absolutely beautiful.

If you’re one of those people who hates getting mucky, needs a warm shower and comfy bed then maybe this isn’t for you, this is by no means a posh campsite but we wouldn’t have it any other way, it’s so relaxed you can have campfires and BBQ’s the only rule is that you leave it how you found it.

Tent, blankets, pillows, sleeping bag…anything and everything warm, Check!

Realistically it is going to get cold in the evenings despite whether or not it’s a sunny day so don’t forget to pack layers and lots of blankets, I am very cold person so this comes in very handy! All my friends know this and now supply me with blankets and wrap me up in warm things when they see me shivering – best friend goals right?

Camera, Check!

I am a very sentimental person and capturing things on camera is very important to me so I can look back on all the wonderful times I have had. I was going to take a disposable camera with me because I love the effect of the photos and I miss holding actual photos in my hand, however I realised how expensive they were when I went searching in town for one so I decided to use my iPhone and the afterlight app instead as it gives very similar effects on the photos. I think a camera is an essential part of any trip, capturing memories is something you can only do the once and when you want to look back on the fun times you had having pictures just makes it all the more lovely, so I took my DSLR camera with me too.

Star Gazing, Check!

The first time I went to this campsite me and my friend Chris went and lay in a field at about 1am and stared at the sky for a good hour, the sky was so clear you could see every star there was to see and we also saw shooting stars. One of my favourite life moments so far where you can’t see anything but stars you can’t hear anything but the sea in the background, I was lying there wrapped in a blanket nearly crying with how happy I was to see my first shooting star.

This year we saw them again, me and my best friend Lora went and lay in the grass just by our camp but far enough away to have no light pollution. It felt like we could see every single star there was out there, we spotted several constellations and we saw a shooting star. One of my favourite memories. I think stargazing is a really lovely thing to do, whether it is because you just love the sky like me or to find peace with yourself and your mind. (Some people might be going ‘bleugh’ right now but there is something really special and calming about lying in the middle of nowhere, no care or worries in the world and just staring up at the sky.)

I am going to leave you with some of the beautiful photos from the weekend,  I hope you’ve enjoyed reading, lots of love and hugs from Evie x x x

Leave a Reply

