Christmas/Winter Party Make-up

“I’m Just Winging It…My life, My Eyeliner, Everything”

Christmas trees, wrapping paper, sparkly decorations, gingerbread lattes, wooly jumpers…. It must be nearly Christmas!

Seen as it is exactly a month until Christmas day (eeeeek) I thought what better than to share with you my go to makeup look for the party season! Enjoy.

I don’t know about you but when I think Christmas I think dark reds and golds and lots of sparkles…lots and lots of sparkles.

I think the key to any winter or Christmas make-up is glitter and a bold red or dark purple lip. Now i’m no makeup expert but recently I’ve been getting Β a lot more into it and i’m really pleased with where its going at the moment!

The first thing I like to start with after washing and priming my face is foundation, I’ve never been one for light coverage I either wear make up or i don’t! My favourite foundation is Rimmel Match perfection foundation, it’s long lasting, full coverage and i really like the smell (?) Weird I know, but having a gross smelling foundation is the worst! I put this on using a real techniques buffing brush.

Next I move straight onto eyes, maybe slightly controversial as I know a lot of people go onto concealer but if i have any fallout from eye make up it can be easily corrected afterwards and I like to have a clean precise line under my eyes to make my final look very clean. For this look I mainly use my make-up revolution palettes (I have several) but I am also in love with the sleek palettes. I start with an orange-y brown for my transition colour, going in with a fluffy brush into my crease and above. Then I’ll place a darker golden brown in the corner and lightly brush it into my crease, going back in with the transition colour to blend it out. Then I’ll place a bold gold sparkly colour right in the center where there isn’t much shadow. Again going back in with the transition colour to blend fully, I’ll then put a light glitter in the inner corner to brighten it all up. I finish off the eyes (for the minute) by curling my eyelashes and doing a winged eyeliner with my trusty collection extreme 24hr felt tip liner (which I swear by, i have repurchased many a time).

Coming back to eyes later, i move onto brows using revolution brow arch and shape and a little eyebrow kit i picked up in Tesco. Brows are my biggest weakness makeup wise, they’re either too big or too small or too fluffy or too thin and its just not fun!

Then i hit the concealer, using the collection lasting perfection concealer, my favourite thing ever and a bargain at Β£4.98 in most drugstores! I take my concealer around my brows to make them precise, tidy them up and highlight my brow bone, then under my eyes, on nose cupids bow and center of my forehead, using a beauty blender to blend it all in and a really pale collection powder to set the concealer in place.

To contour i use the contour brush from the real techniques core collection and an angled contour brush i got off eBay. Using the sleek contour kit i just carve out my cheek bones, blend it up to my temples and down either side of my nose lightly, then I use the sleek highlight kit and highlight my nose, center of my forehead, above my cheekbones and my cupids bow.

To finish off I use whichever mascara I’m into (i change around a lot) and then line my lips with a dark red liner, and go for either a dark red, burgundy, deep purple or aubergine coloured lipstick!Β If its for a party I’ll normally add some false lashes too for extra ooomph on your eyes!

I hope you enjoyed reading that, if you give it a go let me know and tag me in a photo on instagram @WhatEvieDid

Lots of love xxxx

 

 

Leave a Reply

